Videos

Bounce Back League

Bounce Back League

Bounce Back League is a national program of Boys and Girls Clubs of Canada. It is a trauma-informed sports program for children and youth that is designed to improve health outcomes and healing from trauma through skills building and supportive relationships. Learn more.

Building Internal Resilience Through Horses

Building Internal Resilience Through Horses

The Kawartha Sexual Assault Centre, in partnership with The Mane Intent and Trent University, is developing and evaluating an intervention that combines equine-assisted learning with workshops on expressive arts and psychoeducation to build resilience and life skills in young women between the ages of 13 and 18 years who are survivors of child maltreatment. Learn more.

Child & Youth Mental Health

Child and Youth Mental Health: The implementation of the interRAI Collaborative Action Plans to improve outcomes for children and youth exposed to domestic violence

This project is implementing and evaluating the interRAI Child & Youth Mental Health Instrument (ChYMH), which is an innovative assessment to intervention tool that assesses the mental health needs of children between the ages of 4 to 18.

Collaborative Approaches for Supporting Survivors of Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting (FGM/C)

Collaborative Approaches for Supporting Survivors of Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting (FGM/C)

Led by Women’s Health in Women’s Hands Community Health Centre, this project is engaging survivors of FGM/C, community leaders, service providers and the media to educate, sensitize and enhance supports for survivors and those at risk of FGM/C.

MindUP for Young Children

MindUP for Young Children

The MindUP™ for Young Children project is implementing and evaluating a mindfulness-informed, evidence-based social and emotional learning intervention within a trauma-informed framework to full-day kindergarten children in the London District Catholic School Board and a community-based organization, Merrymount Family Support and Crisis Centre.

Nato’ we ho win

NATO’ WE HO WIN

Nato’ we ho win (pronounced “natawayhowin”) is Cree for “The Art of Self-Healing.” Nato’ we ho win is an innovative, manualised trauma-informed arts-based program that addresses the mental and physical health needs of women who have experienced intimate partner violence and self-identify as Indigenous.

P.E.A.C.E Project (Peer Education and Connection through Empowerment)

The P.E.A.C.E Project (Peer Education and Connection through Empowerment)

The P.E.A.C.E Project (Peer Education and Connection through Empowerment) is developing a trauma-informed curriculum and facilitating group activities that enhance resiliency and promote overall health of female-identifying youth who have experienced any form of gender-based violence.

 

Reaching Out with Yoga

Reaching Out with Yoga

Reaching Out with Yoga is a collaborative project between the British Columbia Society of Transition Houses and Yoga Outreach. This project is exploring how trauma-informed yoga impacts the health and wellbeing of women and children who have experienced violence as well as anti-violence workers.

Safe & Understood

Safe and Understood: Intervening with families to promote healthy child outcomes and prevent abuse recurrence for young child victims of domestic violence exposure

Safe and Understood project expands the reach of two existing programs- Caring Dads & Mothers in Mind. These programs for parents with experiences of domestic violence build skills to manage stress, enhance self-esteem, and support the social, emotional and developmental health of their children.



Shape your Life

Shape Your Life Project: Measuring the Effects of Shape Your Life Project on the mental and physical health outcomes of victims of domestic violence

Shape Your Life (SYL) is a free, trauma informed, non-contact boxing program for self-identified women who have experienced violence. The program operates as a partnership between Dr. Cathy van Ingen, Associate Professor in Kinesiology at Brock University and Joanne Green, Executive Director with Opportunity for Advancement. Learn more.


Sole Expression

Sole Expression: Trauma-Informed Dance Intervention

Sole Expression is a trauma-informed hip-hop dance intervention for youth who have experienced family violence. The program is being delivered and evaluated by BOOST Child and Youth Advocacy Centre in Toronto, Ontario in partnership with Unity and Ryerson University. Learn more.


STEP

STEP: Supporting the transition to and engagement in parenthood in adults who experienced maltreatment as children

STEP is designing, delivering and evaluating an innovative intervention for adults who have experienced abuse or neglect during their childhood and expecting a child. Ultimately, this intervention aims to (a) promote the physical and mental health of Canadians who were abused or neglected during their childhood and are transitioning to parenthood, (b) to promote the psycho-social development of their child, (c) and to intercept intergenerational cycles of abuse.

Vidéos

Building Internal Resilience Through Horses: développer la résilience grâce aux chevaux

Building Internal Resilience Through Horses: développer la résilience grâce aux chevaux

Le Kawartha Sexual Assault Centre, en partenariat avec The Mane Intent et l’Université Trent, a mis sur pied et évalue une intervention qui combine l’apprentissage au contact des chevaux et des ateliers d’expression artistique et de psychoéducation, afin d’aider des jeunes filles de 13 à 18 ans ayant subi de mauvais traitements pendant l’enfance à développer leur résilience et des compétences essentielles.

 

Approches collaboratives pour aider les femmes ayant subi une mutilation génitale féminine – MGF

Approches collaboratives pour aider les femmes ayant subi une mutilation génitale féminine – MGF

Dirigé par le Women’s Health in Women’s Hands Community Health Centre, ce projet implique des femmes ayant subi une MGF, des responsables communautaires, des prestataires de services et les médias, afin d’éduquer, de sensibiliser et de renforcer le soutien apporté à ces femmes et à celles qui risquent de subir une MGF.

Mind UP: Un programme pour les jeunes enfants

MindUP: Un programme pour les jeunes enfants

MindUP for Young Children implante et évalue une intervention d’apprentissage socioémotionnel à London, en Ontario, auprès d’enfants allant à la maternelle à temps plein dans le conseil scolaire catholique du district de London, et dans le centre de crise et de soutien à la famille, le Merrymount- Family Support & Crisis Centre.

 

Nato we ho win

Nato we ho win

Nato we ho win: Nato’ we ho win (prononcé « nataouaihowine ») signifie « l’art de l’auto-guérison » en cri. Nato’ we ho win est un programme novateur, manualisé, basé sur les arts et tenant compte des traumatismes, qui répond aux besoins de santé mentale et physique de femmes qui ont vécu de la violence conjugale et qui se définissent comme Autochtones.

PEACE: Le projet P.E.A.C.E (Éducation par les pairs et interactions grâce à l’autonomisation) élabore un programme tenant compte des traumatismes et anime des activités de groupe qui renforcent la résilience et promeuvent la santé des jeunes qui s’identifient comme femmes et qui ont été confrontées à la violence sexiste)

PEACE: Le projet P.E.A.C.E (Éducation par les pairs et interactions grâce à l’autonomisation)

PEACE: Le projet P.E.A.C.E (Éducation par les pairs et interactions grâce à l’autonomisation) élabore un programme tenant compte des traumatismes et anime des activités de groupe qui renforcent la résilience et promeuvent la santé des jeunes qui s’identifient comme femmes et qui ont été confrontées à la violence sexiste)

Reaching Out with Yoga

Reaching Out with Yoga est un projet collaboratif entre la British Columbia Society of Transition Houses et Yoga Outreach. Ce projet étudie en quoi le yoga tenant compte des traumatismes influe sur la santé et le bien-être des femmes et des enfants qui ont été confrontés à la violence, ainsi que sur les travailleurs du secteur de lutte contre la violence.

Shape your Life

Mesurer Les Effets Du Projet Shape Your Life Sur La Santé Mentale Et Physique Des Victimes De Violence Familiale

Shape Your Life est un programme de boxe sans contact, axé sur les traumatismes et gratuit, pour les personnes s’identifiant au genre féminin qui ont été confrontées la violence.

 

Safe & Understood

Safe and Understood: Intervenir auprès des familles pour promouvoir la santé des enfants et empêcher la récurrence des mauvais traitements chez les jeunes enfants exposés à la violence familiale

Le projet Safe and Understood élargit le champ d’action de deux programmes existants – Caring Dads et Mothers in Mind. Ces programmes permettent aux parents exposés à la violence familiale de développer leur faculté de gérer leur stress, d’améliorer leur estime de soi et de préserver la santé sociale, affective et développementale de leurs enfants.

 


Sole Expression

Sole Expression: la danse axée sur les traumatismes comme moyen d’intervention

Boost Child and Youth Advocacy Centre, Unity Charity et Université Ryerson travaillent avec les enfants qui ont subi des sévices et de la violence.

 


STEP

STEP: Soutenir la transition et l’engagement dans la parentalité auprès des adultes exposés à de mauvais traitements au cours de leur enfance

Le projet vise à concevoir, implanter et évaluer une intervention novatrice qui s’adresse aux adultes victimes de maltraitance ou de négligence pendant leur enfance et qui attendent un enfant. À terme, cette intervention vise à (a) soutenir la santé physique et mentale de Canadiennes et Canadiens qui ont été victimes de maltraitance ou de négligence au cours de leur enfance et qui s’apprêtent à devenir parents; (b) à soutenir le développement psychosocial de leur enfant; et (c) intercepter les cycles intergénérationnels de maltraitance.

 

Child & Youth Mental Health

Child and Youth Mental Health : Santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes : mise en œuvre des plans d’action collaboratifs interRAI pour améliorer les perspectives des enfants et des jeunes exposés à la violence familiale

Ce projet implante et évalue l’outil novateur “interRAI Child and Youth Mental Health”, un outil qui mesure, de l’évaluation à l’intervention, la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes de 4 à 18 ans.