Connections for Breaking the Cycle (C-BTC) of Violence

The Canadian Mothercraft Society (Mothercraft) is working with diverse partners to scale up and continue evaluating their group intervention for mothers and children experiencing violence in relationships. The initiative enhances access to an interpersonal violence group intervention for pregnant women and mothers of young children experiencing family violence in 15 communities across Canada. The evaluation of C-BTC will help to increase the evidence base for the program and its approaches, confirm its impacts over time, and identify the mechanisms of change observed among pregnant women and mothers who are engaged in the intervention. 

Website: mothercraft.ca 

Evaluation Reports

Building Connections - What We Learned

Building Connections - Technical Evaluation Report

Community of Practice members:

Mary Motz, Ph.D.,C. Psych. 

mary-motz.jpg

Dr. Mary Motz is a Clinical Psychologist at Mothercraft’s Breaking the Cycle program in Toronto and an Adjunct Faculty in the Department of Psychology at York University. Since obtaining her degree in clinical-developmental psychology at York University in 2003, she has been working with pregnant people, mothers, as well as their infants andyoung children who are at risk for maladaptive outcomes because of challenges related to substance use and mental health difficulties, interpersonal violence and trauma, marginalization by society and systemic violence, and poverty.  

In collaboration with internal and community research partners, Dr. Motz has led the program evaluation and research at BTC, including Connections for Breaking the Cycle (C-BTC), and has supervised numerous research and clinical practicum students. Dr. Motz has authored numerous academic publications and technical reports, as well as provided training nationally and internationally related to promoting healthy infant and child development, supporting children with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, and providing trauma-informed interventions for families with infants and young children who have complex needs.  

Bhupinder Heer

Bhupinder-Heer.jpg

Bhupinder Heer is a Registered Social Worker and Director of Child and Family Services at the Canadian Mothercraft Society and her portfolio includes leading and overseeing the early childhood programs and services which includes Breaking the Cycle Program and Connections for Breaking the Cycle Program (C-BTC). She is a Registered Social Worker with the Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers (OCSWSSW).

Bhupinder has over 25 years of experience in children’s mental health clinical service delivery, early childhood development, early identification, early intervention and prevention for families and young children. She has extensive experience fostering strategic partnerships and engaging in system-level collaborations to ensure services meet the needs of children and families, are better integrated and rooted in evidence to ensure quality.

Bhupinder is the recipient of the 2018 Mary Neville Award, in recognition of her clinical leadership and commitment to inclusion, collaboration and early identification which supported to enrich Peel Region’s child and youth mental health system as well as the 2008, National Health Service, UK, Collaboration and Partnership Award.

Connections for Breaking the Cycle (C-BTC) of Violence

Le Canadian Mothercraft Society (Mothercraft) [en anglais seulement] travaille avec divers partenaires pour intensifier et continuer à évaluer son intervention de groupe auprès des mères et des enfants victimes de violence interpersonnelle. L’initiative permet à des femmes enceintes et à des mères de jeunes enfants victimes de violence familiale qui vivent dans 15 communautés dans l’ensemble du Canada d’avoir plus facilement accès à un groupe d’intervention sur la violence interpersonnelle. L’évaluation du projet permettra d’enrichir la base de données probantes liée au programme, confirmer les effets du programme dans le temps et d’identifier les mécanismes de changement observés chez les femmes enceintes et les mères qui participent à l’intervention. 

Website: mothercraft.ca 

Rapport d’évaluation

Créer des liens - Ce que nous avons appris

Créer des liens - Rapport d’évaluation

Membres de la Communauté de Pratique:

Mary Motz, Ph.D.,C. Psych. 

mary-motz.jpg

Mary Motz est psychologue clinicienne au programme Breaking the Cycle (BTC) de Mothercraft, à Toronto, et professeure associée au département de psychologie de l’Université York. Depuis qu’elle a obtenu son diplôme en psychologie clinique et développementale à l’Université York en 2003, elle travaille avec des femmes enceintes, des mères, ainsi que leurs nourrissons et leurs jeunes enfants qui sont à risque de résultats inadaptés en raison des défis liés à la toxicomanie et aux problèmes de santé mentale, de la violence interpersonnelle et des traumatismes, de la marginalisation par la société et de la violence systémique, ainsi que de la pauvreté.

En collaboration avec des partenaires de recherche internes et communautaires, le la Dre Motz dirige l’évaluation du programme et la recherche au BTC, y compris Connections for Breaking the Cycle (C-BTC) et a supervisé de nombreux étudiant.e.s en recherche et en stage clinique. Elle est l’auteure d’un grand nombre de publications universitaires et de rapports techniques, et a offert de la formation à l’échelle nationale et internationale sur la promotion du développement sain des nourrissons et des enfants, le soutien aux enfants atteints de l’ensemble des troubles causés par l’alcoolisation fœtale et les interventions tenant compte des traumatismes pour les familles ayant des nourrissons et de jeunes enfants qui ont des besoins complexes.  

Bhupinder Heer

Bhupinder-Heer.jpg

Bhupinder Heer est assistante sociale agréée et directrice des services à l'enfance et à la famille à la Canadian Mothercraft Society. Son portefeuille comprend la direction et la supervision des programmes et services destinés à la petite enfance, notamment le programme Breaking the Cycle et le programme Connections for Breaking the Cycle (C-BTC). Elle est assistante sociale agréée par l'Ordre des travailleurs sociaux et des techniciens en travail social de l'Ontario (OTSTTSO).

Bhupinder a plus de 25 ans d'expérience dans la prestation de services cliniques de santé mentale pour enfants, le développement de la petite enfance, l'identification précoce, l'intervention précoce et la prévention pour les familles et les jeunes enfants. Elle a une grande expérience de la promotion de partenariats stratégiques et de la collaboration au niveau du système pour s'assurer que les services répondent aux besoins des enfants et des familles, qu'ils sont mieux intégrés et qu'ils s'appuient sur des données probantes pour garantir la qualité.

Bhupinder a reçu le prix Mary Neville 2018, en reconnaissance de son leadership clinique et de son engagement en faveur de l'inclusion, de la collaboration et de l'identification précoce, qui ont contribué à enrichir le système de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents de la région de Peel, ainsi que le prix 2008 du National Health Service (Royaume-Uni) pour la collaboration et le partenariat.